Edging the garden & more

This morning, W & I got up early to work on edging the garden.  I was sitting next to the garden bed and noticed what I thought was a marble rolling around on this nasturtium leaf.  It was a muddy drop of water.

I love bee balm (Monarda didyma).  It’s also known as bergamot.  The bright, showy flowers come in a variety of colors but red is probably most common.  It’s part of the mint family and is perennial in my zone (7b).  

W was working hard to get the trench exactly right for the edging.  It was a really tough job, even with both of us working.  I kind of feel bad because I set him on the task earlier in the week – all by himself.  I suggested YouTube & decided to just let him figure it out (there were a couple lessons in there for 15yo mancubs) but that didn’t work out so well.  It took us about an hour to adjust the end result of that day so we could start today.

This is the short end of the bed.  That’s the pineapple Sage overflowing bottom right. Lemon mint in the pot.

I’m pleased with the end result!  C & W picked up a load of mulch for me from the county-managed mulch pile last week.  It’s not as fine as what can be purchased but it is free and definitely works!

The two cherry tomatoes that I planted in the kitchen garden have grown exponentially.  I’ve decided hat Matt’s Wild Cherry may be an invasive variety.  In my yard work today, I discovered FOUR volunteer plants we’d missed that had blooms &/or fruit already.  We found another 8-9 small pants all around the yard.  That’s in addition to the 8 I’ve rehomed already.

The vertical posts on this bed are 6′ tall…A baby tomatillo coming from the bloom. No idea what ate the leaf.Bees are really important. Without them, we’d have no vegetables or fruit.  This guy was enjoying the echinacea this afternoon while I was weeding the berry hill.

When you spray your yard for mosquitoes, you can impact bee colonies as far as 5 miles away.  There are better options.  I’m allergic to mosquitoes so maybe I’ll do a separate post on what I use that works.The cherry tomatoes are so dense, we can barely find the ripe tomatoes.  The plants are smoothed against the house, in spite of the trellis.Although the plants seem invasive, K loves these small tomatoes.  I think they’re quite lovely.I found fresh hornworm frass but never saw the worm.

Leave a Reply

