Everything is growing – growing all the things.

Updated photos from June 15

I usually share pictures of my veggie gardens and flowers around the rest of the house.  This is our front, directly in front of the door/sidewalk.  The greenery is vinca, also known as periwinkle.  When we bought the house in early 2013, I planted a couple sprigs from a friend’s yard with the hopes of developing a nice ground cover over time.  This area is shaded half the year, under two maple trees, and before I planted this it was essentially just dirt and weeds.  The HOA wanted us to mulch it yearly until this took over (that gets expensive & is kind of pointless to me when we could use actual plants.)

I have some beautiful coneflowers.  Also known as echinacea, the flowers can range from white to purple.  I have a pale pink and a deep fuschia.  I love the mandala-perfection of the center of each flower.

I have thornless blackberries and they’re starting to come in!

This is a massive rosemary bush in my backyard.  It’s pushing 4′ tall.  When I planted it in 2013, it was half of one of those little Bonnie peat pots.

More blackberries.

Purple basil

Lantana – I think this is such a gorgeous flower.  It’s up on the hill in back, near the rosemary, artemisia, milkweed, and rue.

A few weeks back, I moved several “baby” echinacea plants.  This wee guy is blooming!!

The tomatillos are spreading like crazy.

K’s peas are coming in!

Nasturtiums. The flowers are edible!  They are fabulous companion plants for tomatoes, peppers, and a lot of other plants.

I mentioned the volunteer pepper plants.  It actually makes me smile, these guys are tenacious!

Tomatillos and looking up the hill towards the berries and echinacea.

Tomatillo. Related to tomatoes, the growth habit is different and the fruits actually grow inside these thick husks.  To eat, you peel the husk.  The fruits are commonly used in Mexican dishes.  Salsa verde with roasted tomatillos is AMAZING.  I also roast them and use them in tomato-based salsa.  They give a bit of body and tangy sweetness to the dish.

Can you see all the Romas in there?  These are determinate tomatoes, so they’ll come in pretty much in a short period of time and then the plants will be done.

A different color nasturtium bloom.

Look at the size of these nasturtium leaves!!  This is in the kitchen garden, growing with the cherry tomatoes.

The vertical posts are 6′ tall…look at those plants!

My cilantro is bolted, which I always allow because the flowers are so delicate and pretty.

Leave a Reply

